If we all stay…

Time is limited. It is so precious. We don’t know whether we’ll be here tomorrow or not. And sometimes, we don’t even have a choice… But what we had? What if we chose to stay? How different our lives would’ve been? What if we chose to face the pain, to endure it? Would we end up stronger or not? Would we manage to become better?

I have faced loss in my life. I thought I knew its face; that acid taste in your mouth and the essence that there’s a huge hole in your chest. But today, I think I have to reevaluate the enormity of bereavement.

It’s not the same when a 93-year-old dies and when a little human, age 0, becomes an angel in Heaven!

It’s not the same. It’s still death, but it is not the same!

On the one hand, the 93-year-old ran around his circle of life. He grew up, he fell in love, he worked hard. The 93-year-old got married, he got kids. His kids got married, too, and he managed to meet his grandkids as well. He lived a full life. Not an easy one, but a full life!

On the other hand though, the little angel, who is now playing along with the other little angels in Heaven and stares the earth from up above, was so eager to meet her mommy and daddy. Every day she was waking up and she was tasting what her mom was tasting, she was listening everything her mom was listening, she was feeling what her mom was feeling. And she was so thrilled that she would be able to see her at last.

But then, one shiny morning of November, the little angel couldn’t taste anymore. She couldn’t listen or feel what her mom was listening and feeling. She chose to fly up in the sky. To become an angel. Because apparently, this world was so terrifying and big and vicious for her. Because apparently, it would be better to protect her parents from Heaven, rather than to let them protect her. Because, obviously, Heaven is in need, not only of grownup angels, but of little ones as well.

That little angel made a choice; and that choice will hunt her parents forever!

We all make choices! And we all face the consequences of those choices. And sometimes those choices hunt us or those around us.

Choose wisely! Don’t let fear or insecurity or anger confuse you! Choose with your heart! Nobody said that life is easy! But it tastes really good!

Maybe, if we all stay, this world will be better one day. It’s easy to give up. But it’s more courageous to stay here and fight!

Gayle Forman has written one of the most heartachinlgy beautiful novels, which talks about the choices we all have to make, the power of love and those true family bonds, that still exist in the world!

Forman’s magnificent novel, “If I Stay”, will make you reevaluate many things. Don’t take things lightly! And most importantly, don’t take your life lightly! It is precious enough to just waste it!

Take me for example… I chose to study Economics, a completely different major than my father’s, yet a major that’s needed in our family business.

I chose to try on my own to see if I can succeed in that hugely antagonistic market of books and publishing, by thinking of going indie.

I chose to have cats rather than dogs as pets because… well, because the old cat in our backyard gave birth to six kittens and those kittens grew up and had babies of their own. So, this was completely out of my control now that I recall it.

And what about you?

Are you afraid to make some choices? Do you choose wisely? Do you take your life lightly?

Till next time… Toodles!

*This post is dedicated to this little angel we did not manage to meet. Your parents and the rest of us who were expecting to finally see you, miss you so much, even after four months!*

5 thoughts on “If we all stay…

  1. I really struggle with decision making, and in some areas of my life, I feel like I’m running out of time, or purely wasting time. But I’m having to learn to trust that the Lord has a plan, which means that whatever happens, even when it’s out of my control, He is still taking care of me. ❤ Sometimes, having faith is easier said than done, but it’s worth it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

