BOOK REVIEW: Waiting for an Alternative Apocalypse!

From the age of nine up till now, I have read many books. Masterpieces and novels that I personally couldn’t understand why they became bestsellers in the first place. Only recently though I started reading books by indie authors, self-published novels and WIPs. To be honest, those are the ones that need to be acknowledged! Because the author acts like a writer, an editor, a promoter, a publisher… The author is the one who does everything by himself! And that is indeed spectacular!

For that kind of books I’m going to talk today. Those undiscovered collections that hide treasures inside them! Those novels that, if promoted properly, they can even make it to the New York Times’ list!

Today’s review is about the Four Horsemen of the SylverMoon, written by a group of indie authors, also known as the Confederacy of the Quill.

bob3

One of those authors, G. Russel Gaynor, talked to me about that novel a couple of months ago, and for that I am truly grateful!

The Four Horsemen of the SylverMoon is a collection of four individual short stories, each of which presents a different genre; adventure, fantasy, horror and science-fiction.

Now, I know that you can’t love all those genres -even I don’t-, but you can at least like them; and if you don’t, that novel is gonna change your mind!

Starting with the first story, “This Ode to Alexandre”, and the first Horseman, the one of adventure, called “Dumas”, we find ourselves in the middle of an old sort of battle between a bunch of people, who seem to create two different gangs.

I will be honest, my dears; there were so many names and code-names popping up that I was feeling a little bit distracted by them and the main plot of the story. What’s more, this story seems to be written like some kind of journal, which would be nice if the back and forth of events did not exist. What I wanna say is that from the main action, which was taking place in 2010, we go back in 2002. It may be relevant to the plot, yet it’s a bit confusing and distracting for the reader.

Overall, there was action here, and frankly a big amount of it, but it could’ve been better, too! Or, maybe, I didn’t get the real essence of the story and its true plot. Anything is possible… I’m not a know-it-al, not in the slightest!

That didn’t stop me though and I kept reading, moving on to the second individual story, “A Tail of Destiny”, and the second Horseman, the one of fantasy, called “Tolkien”. I mean, come on! What’s not to love here? This theme and genre had me right from its title and its very beginning!

Following the life of Aislin, a plain girl working at an inn, and her newly found cat, the reader gets a glimpse of the Romani tribes, legends and magical powers, along with the fact that, sometimes, whatever shines is not gold!

This individual story was full of beautiful descriptions, awesome quotes and very real characters! What I absolutely loved was the use of the moons and the stars regarding the time descriptions; they gave a more mystical essence that fitted perfectly to the theme of the story.

Although it ends a bit abruptly and there are some editing stuff that could improve the story and make it unfold more effortlessly, overall, this second instalment is mesmerising! It’s like telling you “Wait… There’s more”.

And when you think you can relax in the lands of fairytales, there comes the horror and the third Horseman, “Poe”, to wake you up!

1139817-bigthumbnail

In this individual, third story, “The Journal of Montgomery S. Pearce”, we get to meet a group of people, destined to fulfil a quite dangerous task, full of supernatural creatures and dangers beyond measure.

This is probably the story I liked the most, which is why I’m not gonna make any spoilers!

I do have to say some things though, regarding the plot and the development of the story in general.

First of all, I think that quoting general truths was a quite clever way to make the characters seem more approachable and real. Furthermore, there was some serious black humour here, which I personally ADORED! And finally, the natural way with which the plot line was unfolding, made this particular story truly pleasant!

And finally, coming up to the forth Horseman, Asimov, and the final story, “Crosswalking”… Well, what can I say about it. Science fiction is the kind of genre that I prefer to watch rather than read. It’s just not my cup of tea.

Still, it was a pleasant surprise to read such a beautifully developed and organised story, with a lot of action and dynamic dialogues. I would definitely watch it if it was going to become a movie!

5043614-7107896352-4-hor

In closure, this anthology was indeed something worth reading because, like I said at the beginning of this post, there are some hidden treasures out there in the book market. All you have to do is look carefully; and you will find them!

Just like I found “The Four Horsemen of the SylverMoon”!

Till next time… Toodles!

7 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Waiting for an Alternative Apocalypse!

  1. What an exciting collection of short stories! I love all of the pictures you shared. Finding a lesser-know novel is so exciting – not that best-sellers aren’t great, but there’s something different about a great book that you know hasn’t been read by a fraction as many people. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They were all very pleasant to read! What’s more, I feel truly grateful to those authors who trusted me enough to write this review!
      I’m glad you liked it and I would recommend you read that novel, too. 😊
      Indie authors should be encouraged to continue their amazing job!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s awesome! Yeah, having an author send you a book, or even getting an advance reading copy, is so exciting! I’ll definitely have to look them up 🙂 Thanks for writing a review!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

