What makes a book tick?

Hello everyone!

I hope you had a great week and you’re ready to enjoy your weekend to the fullest!

And since I wanna do the same, today’s post will be a short one. Plus I think I ate too much fish and now I need an one-hour nap.

Today’s subject is, as the title probably revealed, what makes a book special. Which are those elements that make a novel stand out and don’t be one with the masses. Is it the plot? The characters? The settings? Is it the essence the writer manages to give to the reader?

That’s what I’m trying to figure out right now, since lately I’ve read some of the bestsellers of 2016 and some books that basically stayed hidden in the shadows. For example…

The bestsellers:

15441253._SY540_

Harry_Potter_and_the_Cursed_Child_Script_Book_Cover

The “invisible” ones:

Exactly my point! No one remembers them!

Don’t get me wrong. The books that didn’t make it to the best sellers’ list aren’t necessarily bad. Maybe they were promoted properly or they didn’t have all those characteristics that would help them achieve greatness!

Are those characteristics and linguistic elements a necessity to write a successful novel? Is it something else that makes a novel and its author stand out; a good editor perhaps?

What’s more, I wanna understand what sorts of elements I have to use in my own writing as well, even if for the time being the plan says “indie all the way”.

I probably didn’t mention it here, but I’m gonna do it now; to become a good writer, you have to be a very good reader first!

I believe that!

So, I would really like to know your opinion on that subject!

Till next time… Toodles!

Leave a Reply

