BOOK REVIEW: Red As The Dawn!

It’s been a long time since I bought a book so hesitantly and it surprised me so much in the end. Lately, every book seemed like a previous one I had read. But not this one. I’m talking about none other than the “Red Queen”, written by Victoria Aveyard, and the review you’re about to start reading.

“Red Queen” is the first book of Aveyard’s four-book series, following the lives of the inhabitants in the Kingdom of Norta. Everything there is defined by blood; either Red, common blood, or Silver, the blood of those super-humans, who rule Norta and use the “Reds” as soldiers, workers or servants.

Mare, a seventeen-year-old Red, is trying to survive in a society where everything and everyone seems like they’re against her. But when the King and the Silver nobles find out that she has superpowers too, her life changes abruptly. Now she is imprisoned in the castle and engaged to a Silver prince. She has to learn how to behave, how to use her power, how to handle her emotions and, most importantly, how to survive. Because, by surviving, she may be able to save, not only herself, but also the rest of the Red community; the one which will rise, red as the dawn.

Since it’s a YA novel, it came as no surprise to me the fact that there’s a first-person narration. Everything is seen, felt, told by the point of view of Mare; an independent, strong, undisciplined female lead. Again, no surprise here. We’ve read about them before; Elizabeth Bennet, Hermione Granger, Katniss Everdeen.

What was surprising though is that Mare, although being independent and a bit stubborn, she had somehow accepted her destiny, unlike the other female leads I mentioned here. She knew there was no glory coming for her. Well, at least until she met Cal; that servant boy from the palace, who somehow managed to get her a job there, too.

And that’s where everything changes!

13718743

Two princes, one “princess”, two vicious antagonists. That’s not a love triangle; it’s a love pentagonal! And it’s deadly! Because in this universe nothing is as it seems, nobody means what they’re saying, no one is who they seem to be; and that was the biggest surprise of all for me!

Even if I managed to guess many of the plot’s twists, I missed the biggest of them all! To me, that’s what makes a book successful!

Of course, I’m not gonna spoil the end for you, because I think this book is worth reading. It talks about change, courage, struggle, the purpose everyone has to have in their lives. It talks about the society we all dream to live in, to be part of it, but none of us makes the first step to create that society.

And of course, it talks about family bonds, love and sacrifice! And this is where “Red Queen” gained not only my interest, but my heart as well.

The only thing that seemed a bit “off” to me was the fact that, even though the storyline is happening in a seemingly epic world, there are common things as well, like bikes, refrigerators, jets and other stuff like that. Either you create an epic setting, or you’re talking about a dystopian, new world. I don’t think there could be a strong combination of the two.

But, this is just a little detail compering to the strong elements of this novel. And as the WordPress mentioned before me…

That’s what makes this book epic, overall! Plus, one more thing, written by me. Although everyone was telling Mare to be “Red in the Head, Silver in the Heart”, she chose the exact opposite. And you should do the same. I know I do; Silver in the Head, Red in the Heart. Silver logic, Red emotion.

For more information about the author and her books, you can follow that link, or even better follow Victoria Aveyard on Twitter, by clicking here, or the official account focusing only on the books, by following this link.

Also, if I haven’t persuaded you yet to buy this book and you wanna read more reviews, Goodreads will probably help you make your decision. And if this helps even more, I know I was truly existed when I bought “Glass Sword”!

Till next time… Toodles!

P.S.: Let me know if you have read “Red Queen” and what you think of it. Have you read the rest of that series books?

5 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Red As The Dawn!

    1. It was indeed! I really loved the first installment! I read the sequel as well (it is scheduled on next week’s review) and now I’m reading one of the author’s novellas. I’ll buy the third one too so I have a complete view of the story. ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

