BOOK REVIEW: Anyone can betray anyone. Or not…

After reading “The Silmarillion” by J.R.R. Tolkien, I thought that it would be nice to read something more fresh and more appealing to the younger audiences, especially if I wanted to go deeper into the young adult (YA) themes that seem to rule the book market nowadays.

So, I started reading the “Red Queen” by Victoria Aveyard and I felt astonished by this mesmerising, new world. Or so I thought…

Until I stated reading the second instalment, the “Glass Sword”.

To be honest, I was more than thrilled when I found this book accidentally, while looking for other novels. The first one was a huge success, at least according to me, so I couldn’t wait to read what was going to happen next. I even took the book with me one day to my MRI appointment! Little did I know…

I totally forgot that sequels are rarely as successful as the first instalments.

I have to admit, I judged the book based on its cover; and the previous good impressions that “Red Queen” gave me.

However, I was a little bit (if not a lot) disappointed.

To me, the narration seemed quite “slow” from the beginning till the half of the book, the battle scenes lacked of that epic essence, the characters’ motives seemed pretty unclear, not to mention that they kept repeating their mistakes over and over again; especially Mare, the protagonist.

There’s a Chinese proverb that quotes: “A man who has committed a mistake and doesn’t correct it is committing another mistake”.

Well, that’s pretty much what Mare did throughout the whole book, constantly forgetting that “anyone can betray anyone” in her world.

But let’s see in more detail the plot of “Glass Sword”…

Mare Barrow knows one thing for certain; she’s different. But so is her brother and a few other people, also called “new bloods”, whose names are written in a long list that was given to her by Julian Jacos; the first Silver person who told her that anyone can betray anyone.

Pursued by Maven, once the boy whom she believed would help her, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit the “new bloods”, in order to join the fight against her oppressors.

In this journey however, she finds herself across her greatest fear; becoming the exact kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

I know that I’m presenting it quite beautifully, but that’s the camouflage of marketing, folks. Because, yes, the book has some magnificent quotes, but other than that, the plot seems like it’s fighting to unfold. It’s not happening effortlessly and this is the mayor con of this novel.

I mean, if I have to read till the very end for something EPIC to happen, with nothing to intrigue me in between, what’s the point of even reading the book in the first place?

A good novel knows how to keep the reader on the edge in every single page. I didn’t feel that while reading “Glass Sword”. Sorry…

Nonetheless, I’m gonna give a second chance to Victoria Aveyard to earn my trust again, by reading the third book of the series, “King’s Cage”. But if I don’t see some mayor change, then that’s it! I’m out!

No matter how artistically it is presented…

I was even thinking of reading the prequels’ collection, but I’m not so sure anymore. Although it might be slightly different and much more interesting learning the background story of a character that doesn’t even appear in the main series, and another female character that seems to have even more strength than the protagonist.

We shall see… There are still plenty of books that need to be read till the end of this year! I’ll probably manage those two as well.

So, that’s it for today dearies! You can find more reviews by clicking on the “Thursday Thrives” tag, as well as on Goodreads.

Also, I’d really like to know if you read “Glass Sword” and what you think of it. I’m open to every other point of view that exists out there.

There’s only one thing that I cannot negotiate; truth matters. As well as it matters what other people believe; because there are fragments of truth in their minds, too.

Victoria Aveyard’s characters tend to forget that, which is why they keep acting like foolish teenagers. I hope they’ll grow up till I start reading the “King’s Cage”!

Till next time… Toodles!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ink&Inklings says:

    I agree with this 100%. The second book seemed so… convenient? Like, oh look at all these superpowers and how they all just happen to provide us with exactly what we need?! And Mar brooding and sulking… augh. I’m not reading the 3rd one. Are you??

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! The first half of the book was dull and then everything happened abruptly just to put an end to the story.
      Nah… I don’t think so. I have started reading so many AMAZING series. I don’t wanna settle for something that seems beautiful and popular but has nothing to do with literary art!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

