Show me the love!

There are so many different ways to show your affection and love to somebody. Some do it with a hug. Some with a kiss… Some by buying presents… Some only with their eyes… And there are some who do all of the above.

I adore that kind of people. Because they unconditionally reveal their deepest thoughts, their true feelings, and show you that they’re here for you no matter what.

Now, that is epic! Not the love stories I had mentioned in the previous post.

Is it better to read something like that…

“…I moved as fast as my aching feet were allowing me, thinking the last time that a summer thunderstorm had broken, when he and I were still together.

It must have been August and we had gone out for drinks. We had parked quite far from one of our favorite bars. Suddenly, a thunderstorm like that had broken and when we’d finally decided to leave, it was almost impossible to walk because of the water.

I had been wearing my favorite leather sandals. Michael had looked at me and done the unexpected. He’d taken me on his back and started running towards the car, in the middle of the night.

Because of those kinds of memories it was so difficult for me to take that man out of my life. Because he had shown me that he loved me once. But my patience had run out…”

…or something that talks about a manipulative relationship, one that the female protagonist seems to actually enjoy?

It’s way better to read about a relationship that you can actually relate to, because that makes it even more real in your mind.

I have actually experienced that extract’s night and that’s partly the reason why I included it in the Passion of Hate, my working project. Or I could have written about the night when my high heel broke and that special someone took his shoes off, just to walk barefoot, like me. Or that time when we participated in a 10 kilometers race and I ran out of water and he gave me his own bottle. Or that spring when he bought me a present just because he wanted to; it wasn’t even my birthday.

There are pieces of truth in every single situation I wrote above. You can relate to them. They can make you smile. Or laugh. Or maybe both. Can a BDSM relationship, or even the idea of a BDSM relationship, make you feel that way? I don’t think so. Unless you are a dominant and you actually enjoy that!

My point is that love stories should make you feel warmth and peacefulness and joy. They should remind you of things you have experienced and things you wanna experience in the future. Not some idealistic relationship, where every problem is solved, money appears even in the darkest of corners, extravagance is your middle name and you live happily ever after.

Problems exist and they can appear unexpectedly. It’s up to you to decide whether you wanna let them crash your happiness and your love story or not. Or, as J.K. Rowling once wrote, “Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light”!

So, get out there folks and show your love to somebody. Your parents, your partner, a dog… I don’t care! Just do it!

Till next time… Toodles!

Leave a Reply

