BOOK REVIEW: Goblins, Poems and A Garden

It is a fact that when you know personally an author, you read their piece of art in a completely different way. It’s like you can hear their voice narrating the story. Or in this case and today’s review, you can hear them recite their poems clearly.

At least, that’s how I felt when I started reading the “Goblin Garden”, by the amazing, one-of-a-kind, Queen of the Darkness, Christine Bottas!

“Goblin Garden” is a bilingual collection of gothic, dark poems, written both in English and Greek. More specifically, it’s a collection of 23 poems, focusing on those deep, dark thoughts, every single one of us has made even just once, during our lifetime journey.

There’s dark beauty, love, loss, pain, bittersweet memories, even death in that collection. And they are so brilliantly given that they’ll make you cry; literally!

Maybe I was biased from the moment I got the book in my hands -and maybe even before that- but it’s been a long time since I got so excited about a poetry collection!

I started reading the first poem and I felt goosebumps all over my body. I went to the second one and I started tearing up. By the third poem, I was crying for real!

I could relate so much to what Christine was saying! It was like she was drawing a painting inside my mind and she knew exactly what kind of colours she had to use!

Even if she does not use the extravagant vocabulary some poets tend to use, she manages to create the perfect setting of inward-looking, loneliness, day-dreaming and darkness, which makes this collection addictive.

Especially the poems Cupid, Hungry and Eternal Love made me feel all those mixed and complex emotions that I was desperately asking for more!

The dedication on the first page of the book quotes:

“Dear Victoria,

The goblins wanted to say {HELLO}! Hope you enjoy this book and congratulations on winning the contest Katrin Hollister and I hosted on Wattpad!”


I’m not sure if “enjoy” quite covers how I felt while reading this book.

I felt ecstatic, nostalgic, sad, bittersweet, happy, in love… I felt all those intense and real emotions, in such a short period of time, that I think I adored this book.

Because that’s what poetry needs to be about; to make the reader feel all those emotions that, sometimes, is too afraid to reveal! Or, as someone else said before me…

I definitely recommend that poetry collection, not only to those who are passionate about poems, but also to those who seek for something different, extraordinary and unique.

Christine Bottas is a talented and aspiring young author and I am truly glad I had the chance to meet her.

To find out more about her and her WIPs, you can check out her profile on Wattpad, as well as her Twitter and Facebook profiles.

I would advise you to read “All Lips Turn Blue”, the novella she’s working on right now. This is the place where her goblins and bats are truly causing mischief in!

Her goblins found me this Christmas and I hope they’ll find you, too, right on time for this year’s summer vacation!

Till next time… Toodles!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Maggie says:

    This book sounds fantastic, Victoria! Thanks for sharing 🙂 Getting to read stories a dear friend wrote is always exciting for me! I’m glad you enjoyed this one so much. I’ll have to check her out on Wattpad!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is! I re-read it many times since Christmas! Christine has a unique way of painting pictures inside your mind! All her WIPs are little pieces of art! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sofia says:

    I think I would love this book

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You would! It’s available on Amazon! You can check it there!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

