BOOK REVIEW: The Elite

Almost a couple of months ago, a friend of mine told me that YA is my tribe, the genre that suits me the most. I truly see what she means every time I read a good, young adult novel. Like The Elite, by Kiera Cass, for instance.

The_Elite_Cover

It is the second instalment of the Selection best-selling series, where America Singer, an 18-year-old plain girl, was selected to compete with 34 other girls to win the heart of Prince Maxon.

In this second novel, only 6 of the 35 contestants have remained in the competition, becoming the Elite choices of the Prince. But only one will be the winner. Only one will marry the Prince, becoming Princess herself and the future Queen of Illéa.

America isn’t sure what her heart truly desires. The love triangle has become more obvious than it was in the first novel, leaving her between Maxon and Aspen to choose. The other five contestants are eager to fight till the end to win the Prince’s heart and America’s time is running out.

But when she thinks she has finally made her decision, a tragic loss makes her doubt everything all over again. While she’s struggling to imagine her future, either as a Princess or as the wife of a military officer, the violent rebels, who want to overthrow the monarchy, are gaining more power by the day and their plans seem powerful enough to destroy every possibility America has for a happy ending.

8585486

Honestly, very few sequels of book series that I have read truly touched me. Most of them seem to be either indifferent or vapid. This one though, moved me; truly! There were times when, while reading, I could see the recent government of my country. I could picture the frustration of the citizens, their hope for the difference that’s not coming. I could see so many talented people that stay hidden in the shadows because the system does not allow them to prove themselves, leaving others, less capable, less intelligent, do the job the “invisible” ones should have!

I didn’t care much about the love stories, the cat fights and so on, since it is quite obvious to me by now who’s gonna end up with the Prince. But what I truly loved about this book was the major plot twist there was somewhere towards the end of it. And I was the one who had thought the narration was becoming slow… I’m glad I was wrong about that!

Like in the first instalment, the narration was quick, the dialogues spontaneous, the monologues truthful and meaningful! Being a not-so-young-adult at the moment has helped me look deeper for the meaning and the message every author wants to send. I believe that fairytales, children stories and young adult novels send the most important messages and teach the most valuable lessons! I believe that! And I’m truly grateful I read this book and I was able to memorise by heart quotes like this one!

the-elite-feature

Overall, I think Kiera Cass did once again a wonderful job, managing to capture perfectly the dystopian setting, along with the teenage feelings and the severity of running a country.

I think the rest of the books will be equally and even more pleasant. By the time you’re reading this, I’ll probably know!

maxresdefault

Till next time… Toodles!

 

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Elite

    1. It is definitely a summer read, this particular book series. I’d suggest to start with the first two and see how it goes, read the third one and then… take a break from this one. But that’s just my personal opinion. Nobody can deny though that a five-books series is always a challenge. It may not work out as planned.

      Like

Leave a Reply

