BOOK REVIEW: Reading about a Different Beauty and a Beautiful Beast

After reading so many fanfics, original stories based on that tale which is as old as time, even writing my own alternative ending of Beauty and the Beast, I can say with certainty that Sarah J. Maas’ novel, A Court of Thorns and Roses, is by far the most surprising and spontaneous of them all!

The novel is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, only with fairies and more magic and too many dangers.

When nineteen-year-old huntress, Feyre, kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution. Dragged to a treacherous, magical land she only knows about from the legends of her ancestors, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal but one of the immortal, lethal fairies who once ruled their world. His name is Tamlin and he’s one of the High Lords of Prythian.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the fae lands and Feyre must find a way to stop it or doom Tamlin, and his world, forever!

At first, I thought this was just another fanfic with nothing new to say at all; even if I knew people who were truly enthusiastic, almost ecstatic, about this novel. But then I started read178ee44526920dbd50eec6e8bf773319ing it and my mind changed completely.

This book opened up the door to a whole new world, a place both mythical and familiar, a place full of magic, but still full of everyday problems, as well. Even from the first couple of chapters, I realised this was going to be something truly amazing!

The narration was captivating! The pictures and the characters so vivid, I could swear I was able to see them alive in front of me. I could see what they were seeing, smell what they were smelling, taste what they were tasting, feel with every fibre of my being their feelings. My favourite character of them all: Lucien! I think I’m growing fonder of the secondary characters for some reason, I don’t know. Maybe he reminds me of myself a little bit. You can’t blame me though. If you read the book, you’ll understand! He’s the kind of person who doesn’t want to open up too much to someone he doesn’t know, just because he cares a lot and he was burned before. Completely understandable!

Back to our subject though. Like I said, there’s a lot of narration, something that others will find fascinating, others not so much. As for me, I loved it. Narration and descriptions are two of the things I value the most in a good book! Although dialogues here were really funny at times, too, while others sent shivers down my spine! They were full of action and there were chapters where things were happening so fast I was practically feeling dragged into this magical world! It was epic!

I’m not gonna lie to you. The whole story focuses around the relationship and the passion that’s growing between Feyre and Tamlin; and ta8e6eaefc0c0b626406735d9e959427chis is so romantic and all. It’s pretty cool to realise that the characters get to know each other and their feelings become stronger and stronger, though that happened a bit fast, at least in my mind, but anyway.

The point is that you expect something major, something epic to happen between them. And it does; sort of. I’m not gonna spoil anything because I think this is a book worth reading. But, I am going to tell you this: forget the happy ending you remember from our classical Beauty and the Beast. This novel has an altered happy ending. Apparently the author has a pretty clear idea in her mind of what would make her characters happy. Not all of them, but at least some.

To give you a hint though, just take a closer look at the following picture. Those who have read the book, will understand. Those who will read it, they’ll come back later, they’ll re-read the post and they’ll be like “Oh, that’s what this was all about”. And they’ll agree with me once I’ll tell them with which “Team”, or even better Court, they should stick; like glue!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Overall, this novel was fresh, enjoyable, full of magic, fair fae and passion! To the hopeless romantics out there, this novel is going to surprise you in the most unexpected way! There’s gonna be a Beauty. There’s gonna be a Beast. But which Beast will win the Beauty’s heart in the end? And which of the three Beasts will get what they deserve?

All I know is that, after reading the end of this first instalment, I definitely had to buy the next two books! You should do so, too!

Till next time… Toodles!

P.S.1: I’m probably re-reading the books right now, but that’s highly expected. You can’t get over the ACOTAR series easily! TEAM… Shhh! You’ll find out soon!

P.S.2: For those of you who have read the ACOTAR series, which one did you like the most? Please, try to avoid comments containing (too many) spoilers for the rest of the readers who haven’t read the series yet.

 

 

Leave a Reply

