My TBR List of Not-So-Popular Books

Hi everyone and welcome back to another Saturday-ish post!

I know that lately I’ve been writing, talking and obsessing (a little bit) about the most best-selling books of the past couple of years and that I haven’t written anything focusing on self-published or indie authors, and their books, for quite some time. Last time I talked about a not-so-popular book was when I wrote the review of The Burning Years, which you can read by following the previous link.

This is about to change though, since today I’m gonna present to you my TBR list of the not-so-popular books I’m planning on reading this summer. Most of them are fantasy or urban fantasy, because I’m going through a phase and all I want to read is those kinds of books. I’ve been reading contemporary novels, classics and crime novels for quite some time and now I just wanna relax and enjoy the magic!

So, here it goes…

1. A Court For Fairies: First in my list, and probably my heart, is the first instalment of the Dark Heralds series, written by the one and only Lynn S., an aspiring young author, who’s kind enough to send me some feedback from time to time.

32391549-352-k548814

A Court For Fairies focuses on Marissa Salgado, who has always lived in the shadow of her mother, Adriana.

When she meets and falls in love with Esteban, a fellow employee at the law firm, Marissa finally starts to break free from her shell. While Marissa’s mother is overjoyed to see her daughter happy and fulfilled, both Adriana and Marissa have a blood legacy that ties them to creatures of old—and love is indeed transformative when it comes to their kind.

Esteban never knew his father, nor was he aware of his half-human, half-fae heritage… He had no idea he was descended from the feared Alexander clan, a vicious faction of the Unseelie Court that demanded their payment in blood and sacrifice. When Esteban dies in a car accident, the women in his life are shattered, and his mother and grandmother are frantic to bring him back—no matter what it takes.

Magic has a price, and one life has to be exchanged for another…

Answering a request from Esteban’s mother, Marissa agrees to spend a weekend at Innisfree, the family’s country home. During her stay, she learns the fairies who haunted the O’Reillys for generations have now set their eyes on her. When the extent of Esteban’s sacrifice becomes clear, Marissa must make a choice—the truth, or the man she loves.

With her life in danger, will Marissa finally acknowledge those who once swore to protect her? Will her own secrets step out of the shadows, or will she be destroyed by the Court for Fairies?

Well now, that is something worth reading, isn’t it? I know I may be a little bit biased because of the whole Fae world, but Lynn’s writing is amazing and it has this old, yet gold, elegance that New Orlean’s stories need to have!

So, I really think you should add it to your list, if you haven’t read it already!

2. Of Cinder and Madness: Coming up to the second book in my TBR list is the first novel of the Once Upon a Darkened Night series, written by Nicola Zoltack, Of Cinder and Madness; what seems to be a darkish retelling of the old-time-classic Cinderella. Or is it Snow White? I’m not quite sure yet…

34367376

Anyways… Let’s just see what the official synopsis has to say!

The stories about her have been greatly exaggerated. Yes, she is beautiful, with wavy blond hair and big, blue eyes and flawless skin, but her charming façade is a lie, a mask, a deceit.

Yes, yes, I’m sure you think me merely jealous. I’m not. I’m the victim, and I can prove it.

You see, Eleonore deserves to be locked away. My, she even deserves to be killed!

This gripping retelling of a much-loved fairy tale will make you question all you think you know about the girl who steals away to a ball and leaves behind a slipper.

Wow! That seems promising! I’ve been reading retellings for quite some time and aside from the ACOTAR series (yes, again with Queen Maas’ world) nothing seemed to have that spark! Until this novel came along! I’ll let you know when I read it!

3. Fairy, Texas: This is probably the book for which I’m not as excited as I am about the others. Written by Margo Bond Collins, this book focuses on Laney Harris, who thinks there might be monsters in Fairy, Texas.

51+imerf-rL

When her mother remarries and moves them to a town where a date meant hanging out at the Sonic, Laney figures that “boring” will have a whole new meaning.

A new stepsister who despises her and a high school where she is the only topic of gossip is bad enough.

But when she meets the school counselor (and his terminal bad breath), she grows suspicious. Especially since he has wings that only she can see.

And then there are Josh and Mason, two gorgeous glimmering-eyed classmates whose interest in her might not be for the reasons she hopes. Not to mention that dead guy she nearly tripped over in gym class.

Boring takes on an entirely new dimension in Fairy, Texas.

If she’s going to survive in this small town, she’ll have to learn to wing it.

I know, the synopsis seems promising and all, but I don’t know. I think there’s something off with this particular story. I hope I’m wrong!

4. House of Royals: Last but not least, Keary Taylor’s paranormal romance story, House of Royals is here to prove that vampire stories are never getting old!

30228976

Every town has its history and skeletons, but Silent Bend, Mississippi’s are darker than most. Ruled from the shadows by the House—the immortal Born and their aging, enslaved Bitten—everyone knows not to go out after dark and that the police will never look into crimes involving blood.

Alivia Ryan didn’t know the man who claims to be her father through a will even existed until she inherits the Conrath plantation. Instead of the sleepy house she expects, she finds a mansion and a staff who look at her with fear in their eyes.

Ian Ward tried to kill Alivia the first time they met, and then insisted he train her to defend herself against the House, who he claims will try to manipulate and take her in for their own political reasons. And the growing attraction between them will threaten their lives—Ian is a sworn enemy of the House.

In Silent Bend, people disappear, the threat of a demented King and the legend of his resurrecting Queen hang over everyone’s heads, and proving loyalty means far more than blood. You’d better watch who you trust in this town…

House of Royals is the first novel in the House of Royals series. To find out more you can follow the link provided above.

I know that some of you like different genres but, like I said earlier, I’m going through a phase and I’m reading mostly fantasy and paranormal books lately. But feel free to recommend any good books you read lately; whatever genre they are. I read almost everything!

So, this is it for today. My TBR list of not-so-popular books wasn’t that big, since I still have to read four more books that I bought last month. But I always discover new self-published and indie authors to check out. If you have something interesting in mind let me know in the comment section below.

Till next time… Toodles!

P.S.: Do you read novels by self-published or indie authors, or you stick to the established, popular and famous ones?

14 thoughts on “My TBR List of Not-So-Popular Books

      1. Indie and self-published authors mostly contact me. But I recently reached out to some famous publishing companies and I’m waiting some ARC copies. Fingers crossed on that! 🤞

        Like

Leave a Reply

