BOOK REVIEW: A Court of MAGNIFICENCE and FANTASY!

I always loved the mythology of my country. Those marvellous stories my ancestors created, putting tiny pieces of truth in them and tones of fantasy and ambrosial power. One of the myths I love the most is the abduction of Persephone, daughter of Zeus and Demeter, by Hades, God of the Underworld. This myth is commonly known as the Rape of Persephone and it is the myth on which Sarah J. Maas’ second instalment, A Court of Mist and Fury, is based.

A_Court_of_Mist_and_Fury_-_UK_Cover

In this second novel, after rescuing her lover Tamlin from the wicked Fae Queen, Amarantha, Feyre returns to the Spring Court possessing the powers of the High Fae. All seven High Lords of Prythian, to be exact. However, she cannot forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people; nor the bargain she made with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court.

So, the day of her wedding, Rhysand appears to the Spring Court and takes Feyre away, just like Hades took Persephone, to uphold her end of the bargain. As Feyre is drawn even deeper into Rhysand’s “dark” web of politics and passion, war is looming and an evil, far greater than any queen, threatens to destroy everything Feyre has fought for. She must confront her past, embrace her gifts and decide her fate!

Feyre_The_Fox_by_Charlie-Bowater

Before going any further my dears, I’d like to inform you that there will be some spoilers along the way. So, if you want to enjoy the novel, because you do need to read it, stop reading the review and go to the nearest bookstore to buy it. Then, you can come back, read the review, re-read the novel and have this cozy chat in our backyards, mumbling and thinking of the bittersweet torture of Sarah J. Maas’ world!

However, if you don’t mind the spoilers… Let’s keep going!

The second novel of the series is divided into three parts: The House of BeastsThe House of Wind and The House of Mist. The first and the third part are acting mostly as the prologue and the epilogue of the book, without lacking of action at all! Especially in the third part, there are some superbly great battles, plot twists and revelations that will make you reconsider everything you thought you knew about this universe. If you have read A Court of Thorns and Roses for instance, you probably know what I’m talking about. The story started out pointing someone as the main Beast, while the real beast was before our very eyes all along! And the freedom that beast gained back, unleashed its true colours!

As for the second part of the book, which is of course my favourite, the reader gets to know a little better the main characters of this instalment, Feyre darling and Rhys, along with the rest of the Inner Circle of the Night Court: Morrigan, also known as Mor, Amren, Cassian and Azriel.

Don’t you dare think those names are way too extravagant! Maas knows exactly what she’s doing by using such names. After all, they’re High Faes. The most feared of the High Faes; and they know exactly who they are and what they’re doing.

Personally, I’d like to spend all my days with people like Mor and Cassian. Mor for the drinking and hanging out part, and Cassian for the training. They are the sort of people who would make the most loyal and trustworthy friends anyone would ask for! Not that Amren or Azriel wouldn’t be equally or even more trustworthy, but they’re a bit too serious for my style!

Either way, Maas managed to create a handful of different characters, each one having their own pros and flaws, each one being there to play their own part, each one making the story more real and vivid.

There is this amazing family bond in the Court of Dreams, in this beautiful, fictional city, Velaris, that real families would probably envy. Because in this city life thrives. Art thrives. Love thrives. And it is inevitable once you are with those people for over five hundred years!

Velaris… I could live in that city! I could work even as a maid in that city. As long as I was able to walk down its roads, watch the Rainbow of Velaris, stare at the night sky feeling free. Completely free. Because days can be harsh at times. And darkness can consume you without even realising it! But this city brings hope, light, prosperity, love… It creates illumination in the darkest of nights! And it doesn’t let the hard days win!

F9G2YOXTMNEB1472564740058

I’m mumbling, aren’t I? It’s just that A Court of Mist and Fury dragged me in from its first page and didn’t let me out, even after the last one! It has beautiful descriptions, surprisingly funny dialogues, vivid battle scenes, EPIC quotes… Overall, everything a good fantasy novel should have!

And of course, a magnificent love story!

*SPOILER ALERT EVERYONE*

It feels real. A bit surreal at times, but still… Oh! It’s funny and sexy and charming and caring and so many other adjectives I could use to describe it and still I wouldn’t have quite covered it! TEAM FEYSAND Y’ALL! Still from that Calanmai night! I knew it! I foresaw it! I knew Feyre couldn’t, shouldn’t end up with that piece of… Oh! You don’t know yet. Or do you? If you’re Team Tamlin, I’m asking you to reconsider!

The_Court_of_Dreams_by_Charlie_Bowater

And by the way, congratulations to this amazing artist, Charlie Bonater, whose paintings are being included in this post and two of them adorn my new cellphone cases! We need that kind of talent in the world! Because it has turned into an utterly ugly place. And I’m a Dreamer; imprisoned in a Court of Nightmares!

I have to admit, I got a bit scared somewhere around the end of the book, but Sarah J. Maas would not disappoint us, the hopeless romantics! And by the time your reading this review, I’ll probably be reading the third novel, A Court of Wings and Ruin, drinking my Bloody Mary on the balcony, staring at the night, summer sky, the nightingales singing their painfully beautiful songs, as if they know, as if they can endure this sweet torment along.

Overall, I think that A Court of Mist and Fury was way better than A Court of Thorns and Roses and it rightfully won the first place on the New York Times, surpassing the Harry Potter series. I know… Those are MAJOR news!

I have nothing more to say folks! You just need to read this! It’s just epic! It’s pure love! Erotic… Passionate… Dangerous… An amazing blend!

The_Inner_Circle_by_Charlie_Bowater

Thank you once again for reading my posts! I am beyond grateful and I most certainly don’t take your presence here for granted!

So, till next time… I wanna dedicate this post “To the stars who listen… And the dreams that are answered”!

Toodles!

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: A Court of MAGNIFICENCE and FANTASY!

Leave a Reply

