BOOK REVIEW: Lord Of Shadows, by Cassandra Clare, Lady of my heart’s destruction!

Have you ever felt this genuine happiness when anticipating something? This pure, positive feeling that everything is going to be utterly perfect and everyone’s going to live happily ever after? You have? Well, welcome to my world! Or the world I thought I’d pop into while reading the second instalment of The Dark ArtificesLord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare.

LOS_cover

Hello you guys and welcome back to another book review!

Before starting the review, I’d like to let you know that I will try to keep it spoiler free, since I don’t know whether you have read the book or not, or whether you enjoy spoilers or not, for that matter.

So, are you ready? Let’s go!

The book takes place after the events of Lady Midnight, where Emma Carstairs has finally avenged her parents. She thought she’d be at peace. But she is anything but calm. Torn between her desire for her parabatai Julian and her desire to protect him from the brutal consequences of parabatai relationships, aka the parabatai curse, she has begun dating his brother, Mark.

But Mark has spent the past five years trapped in Faerie. So, can he ever truly be a Shadowhunter again? And the faerie courts are not silent. The Unseelie King is tired of the Cold Peace, and will no longer concede to the Shadowhunters’ demands. However, the Seelie Queen is not that better… At least to my eyes!

Caught between the demands of faerie and the laws of the Clave, Emma, Julian, and Mark must find a way to come together to defend everything they hold dear; before it’s too late.

POMELO_20170526114552_save

This second novel is divided into two parts; Dreamland and Thule. The first part takes place a few weeks after the events of Lady Midnight and the big plot twist of the first instalment. The L.A. Institute is now filled with people; its regular residents, but also Jace Harondale and Clary Fairchild, Kit Rook, also known as the Lost Herondale, and a bunch of Centurions, superior Shadowhunters who come to “help” the Blackthorns and Emma to regain the Black Volume of the Dead.

But when Mark’s former leader comes to bring the most unexpected news to the Institute, Mark along with Emma, Julian and Christina must go to the Lands of the Fair Folk, while the rest of the Blackthorns stay back to control whatever the Centurions are trying to achieve.

Lies are being revealed, truths and secrets struggle to remain hidden, and the biggest plot twist of them all takes place at the end of the first part of the novel. Or so you think… Or so I thought!

CJ_Flowers,_Lady_Midnight

For when Thule begins, Cassandra Clare takes the story to a whole new level. The narration is so vivid, the images and feelings so intense that the reader literally thinks they live inside the story. And the characters… Oh, the characters!

Remember when I told you there were so many of them and I was feeling a little confused while reading Lady Midnight? Scratch that! They all have a reason to exist! And a pretty good one actually!

Cassandra Clare knows exactly what she’s doing, teaming up certain characters with others. And when the crash comes, you don’t see it coming!

That’s all the spoiler I can give you, without giving away the story! You’re gonna cry! Big time! Because when the clock will chime the hour, for a second, the gates to Heaven will open! You’ll figure out what I mean if you’re courageous enough to crash your heart with your very own hands by reading this novel!

I don’t know what’s going to happen in the third novel, The Queen of Air and Darkness, but let me tell you this; Lord of Shadows had everything a good YA, fantasy novel needs to have. Action, romance, plot twists, characters to love, characters to loathe, anticipation, great expectations and so many surprises. And all that perfectly balanced!

I think I’ve mentioned it before but I’m gonna say it again. I wasn’t that into The Mortal Instruments series. I really liked The Infernal Devices trilogy. And as for The Dark Artifices? These books are, by far, the best work of Cassandra Clare so far!

Do yourselves a favour and read these books! They’re gonna make you laugh, get pissed, get anxious… And above all, they’re gonna make you cry! That liberating cry, though! And when you’ll be done reading the book (and crying), you’ll want to relive that sweet torment all over again!

I know I do!

Till next time… Toodles!

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Victoria says:

    Great review! What do you think about Julian’s character development? I’m so excited to see more of his darker side in the Queen of Air and Darkness!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I liked the fact that we get to see every aspect of his personality; being happy, frustrated, moody, darker… Though I still can’t understand why he made some of his decisions.
      Hopefully we’ll get some answers and some Emma & Julian love power!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Argh, this sounds so good 😍 I think may put down the book I’m reading and start straight away 😱 I’ve been putting it off knowing how far away the next book is but I don’t think I can wait any longer after reading this review ➰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha… I’m glad I changed your mind! Lord of Shadows is the epitome of Clare’s books and I think you’re gonna love it! You need to read this! ASAP! 😅
      Thanks for reading my review and so glad you enjoyed it! 😘

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Argh, this sounds so good 😍 I think may put down the book I’m reading and start straight away 😱 I’ve been putting it off knowing how far away the next book is but I don’t think I can wait any longer after reading this review ➰ 😅
    Thanks for reading my review and so glad you enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, it’s such a great book! You have to read it! And even though the third book is coming out in 2019, all you’ll need to do is reread it! 😉 it will be equally adorable and heartbreaking! 😏
      Hope you enjoy it! ➰

      Like

Leave a Reply

