The “I DARE YOU” Book Tag!

Hello, hello awesome folks and welcome back to my bookish blog!

First of all… OH MY! 100 subscribers in only four months! You guys are the best! Thank you to Pluto and back! πŸ’œ

As I mentioned last week, the past few days have been a little bit hectic because of Camp NaNo, the frenzy I’m into so I can finish my first draft, the dozens of e-mails I get from indie and self-published authors to write reviews for their books (and I thank them so much for that) and a bunch of other bookish related stuff.

Such as my master thesis’s theme, which I think it’s gonna be about the online and offline customers’-companies’ relations in the book market, as well as the fact that I’m currently looking for a new job in the book industry and I wake up feeling on edge EVERY SINGLE DAY!

So much for summer vacations…

636325332787443939-GettyImages-481677580

But anyway… Today I’m here with the I DARE YOU BOOK TAG!

I originally came across this book tag on PiΓ©ra Forde’s YouTube channel, but then I saw other BookTubers doing this particular tag, so I thought “Why not bring it to the blogosphere, too?”.

So, read this till the end because some of you will be tagged to do the same! Yeah, you got that right! I dare you!

Question Number 1: Which book has been on your shelf for the longest?

To me, that’s an easy one. It’s the book that made me fall in love with reading. And it is Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, by J. K. Rowling. It was my Christmas present at the age of 9, which means I have this book for almost 16 years! Oh my…

Question Number 2: What is your current read, your last read and the book you will read next?

Remaining loyal to my YA book selections, my current read is The Night Circus, by Erin Morgenstern, my last read was Nevernight, by Jay Kristoff, which I absolutely ADORED, and the book I think I’m gonna read next is Carve The Mark, by Veronica Roth, because I have this book for quite sometime now and I keep postponing reading it.

Question Number 3: Which book did everybody like but you hated?

Oh, good Lord… Where do I begin? Aside from The Twilight Saga, by Stephenie Meyer, and all the fanfics that were published after that, the book I absolutely hated was Blue Bloods series, by Melissa de la Cruz. When the first book of the series came out people were literally freaking out about it! Like it was some kind of masterpiece or something. And I have to admit… I was deceived! I was hooked by the cover and my mother bought it to me as a Christmas gift. Thanks Mom…

Question Number 4: A book you tell yourself you are going to read but you probably won’t? 

Although I liked Red Queen, by Victoria Aveyard, I hated the sequel, Glass Sword. And even though I keep telling myself that I have to finish the series, just for the sake of the characters, I don’t think I’m gonna read King’s Cage. I mean I REALLY have to be in the mood to dare to read it. And, frankly, I don’t really think I’ll ever be after Glass Sword.

Question Number 5: What books are you saving for retirement?

Oh, that’s a good one! Even if I have already read it once, I don’t think I’m gonna read it again for the next 40 years and that is The Divine Comedy, by Dante Alighieri. I liked it, like A LOT, but the whole “Inferno, Purgatorio, and Paradiso” theme kinda sends shivers down my spine at the moment.  So, I think I’ll pass until my golden years come.

*QUICK BREAK SO I CAN REFILL MY MUG*

b6f42ae781ee2532014370ec60c199bf

Question Number 6: Last page… Read it first or leave it to the end?

I don’t even have to think about that! I don’t want ruin the anticipation and the suspense so OF COURSE I leave it to the end. Like, what’s the point of even reading the book if you’re gonna know what’s gonna happen in the end? Do yourselves a favour… Don’t ruin the story with your own, bare hands!

Question Number 7: Acknowledgements; waste of paper in ink or an interesting read?

Ah… I can’t really say. If I’m not in a book hangover I may read them. I know dozens of people have worked, aside from the author, so I can hold a book in my hands, and it’s really sweet to acknowledge their work. I don’t know. Sometimes I read them, sometimes I don’t. Depends on the mood, I suppose.

Question Number 8: Which book character would you switch places with?

Seriously? Let me make a list…

1. Hermione, so I can avoid the whole “He Who Must Not Be Named wants you dead dead” thing, but also to be able to go to Hogwarts and be a part of Harry’s life and kick some butt. Oh! And keep reading tons of books!

2. Christina, so I can be friends with Emma Carstairs and kick some butt (again) and meet some Faes and have this thing with Mark Blackthorn. Also, because Christina is Mexican and that would give me an excuse to practise my Spanish.

3. Rose Hathaway because man, this girl is fire! She’s brave and loyal and a bit stubborn (maybe a lot, but that’s besides the point), and she gets to practise every single day. And she has that HOT, HOT, HOT training tutor/boyfriend/love-of-her-life. Oh, wait! I’ve got that, too. Yeah, babe! I’m coming! I didn’t forget we gotta train. (Between you and me, that Kung Fu Cat Stance is kinda hard!)

4. Feyre darling. Do I even have to elaborate on that? She’s FEYRE! And where’s Feyre, so is Rhys. And the Inner Circle. And the Suriel. And I love you all… Lot’s of, lot’s of love and hugs and kisses to that sweet pea, Cassian!

Question Number 9: Do you have a book that reminds you of a specific time in your life?

Oh! Oh! Let me think about that for just a slit second! There was a time, almost two years ago, when my life sucked! Literally! And I wasn’t reading a lot. But then I came across The Infernal Devices series, by Cassandra Clare, and I related so much with Tessa that boy…! It made me realise that even if life sucks from time to time, it remains beautiful. And sweet. And full of potential and surprises! So yeah… Thanks Cassie Clare and Tess for reminding me that!

Question Number 10: Name a book that you acquired in an interesting way.

I had never won anything in contests or giveaways of any of those stuff. But that changed last April, when I won my copy of Jennifer Donnelly’s Beauty and The Beast: Lost In A Book, which book review you can read by following that link.

Question Number 11: Have you ever given a special book away to a special person?

No! Never! And I’m not planning to. That special person can go and get their special book themselves. Or, they can just ask that special me to get it for them. I’m willing to do that. But that’s it. My books are MY PRECIOUS!

Question Number 12: Which book has been with you most places?

I think that would be Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, by J. K. Rowling because I have reread that book so many times and I was taking it with me everywhere I went! Plus, it’s one of my all-time-fav books and I love it beyond words!

Question Number 13: Any required reading that you hated in High School but looking back now it isn’t so bad?

Hah? Probably The Murderess, by Alexandros Papadiamantis, because I was young and naive and couldn’t properly appreciate that MASTERPIECE!

Question Number 14: Used or Brand New Books?

Brand New, duh! You don’t even have to ask me that! And the picture below will tell you why!

8fd4d9dbfa64474a675c7c399a8ed078--books-and-coffee-coffee-mugs

Question Number 15: Have you ever read a Dan Brown book?

Yeah… You don’t have to be a jerk about it. I regret it! I made a mistake! Fine…

Question Number 16: Have you ever seen a movie and you liked it more than the book?

Definitely… NO!

Question Number 17: Have you ever read a book that has made you hungry (cookbooks included)?

No… I don’t think so… Oh! Wait! There is this one book… It’s called… A Court of Mist and Fury, by Sarah J. Maas! Care to eat some soup?

Question Number 18: Who’s book advise would you always take?

That’s an interesting one… I don’t know… My mother reads historical books, my father political and social ones, my boyfriend is into crime and thriller literature, my close friends don’t read a lot… I’d probably say I’d take my own advice, but that would sound egocentric, so I’m gonna go with PiΓ©ra Forde’s and Emma’s from the Emmma Books YouTube channel, because we tend to like the same books. Does that make sense? I don’t know… Anyway! Let’s move on!

Question Number 19: Is there a book outside of your comfort zone which you actually turned out to love reading?

Hmm… I think I’m not that into the Scandinavian crime novels, but Jo Nesbo’s books made me re-evaluate things a little bit. So, yeah… Jo Nesbo’s novels!

And… we’re done! This was the I DARE YOU BOOK TAG and now it’s time for me to actually dare and tag you!

So, the lucky three are…

  1. Laura, from the Bookish Laura blog.
  2. Maggie, from the Dreaming of Guatemala blog.
  3. Angela, from the Egg Reader blog.

So, that’s it for today!

If you liked this post, feel free to like, comment, share and subscribe! Being around here makes me wanna write more for you guys!

Till next time… Toodles!

 

25 thoughts on “The “I DARE YOU” Book Tag!

  1. Omg what a fun tag!! Thanks so much for tagging me! I feel like a lot of our answers are the same! Hahaha. We just know good books!

    And that mug is amazing! I was thinking I had to get one but then I’d have to explain that to my husband and that would not go down so well. Me: “Babe, he’s fictional! It’s all good!” Husband: “……….. *burns all the books*” πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had so much fun writing that particular post and I thought you’d appreciate it, too! So happy we share the same answers!

      Hahaha… It is, isn’t it! Oh, my boyfriend and I have the same discussion over and over. He knows how I feel… As long as I don’t complain about Arwen, he’s not allowed to complain about Rhys! And Mark Blackthorn. And Alec Lightwood. And the Lord of Blades. *Well, you get my point…* πŸ˜‚

      Like

      1. Omg does your boyfriend read too!?!? My husband does not read AT ALL. We have a standing agreement where I go on and on and on about books and he pretends to listen by saying things like, ‘wow that’s crazy’ but we both know he’s really like, “WTF is she talking about/can I watch basketball now?” hahahaha. And it’s always awkward when I tell him that my favorite swoon worthy characters are African American and my husband is white white white….Eep!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hahaha! Yeah he does. Mostly epic fantasy and crime novels but lately I dragged him into YA fantasy because of my WIP. And he seems to like it; especially when there’s a small bloodbath! πŸ˜… But it’s good to like different genres. He reads mine and I read his and so there’s a big variety of books in the house. πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      3. That’s so much fun!!!! One time I thought my husband I could read Hunger Games together and after one chapter he told me he couldn’t do it πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      4. What? Why? Did you tell him the book is like the Survivor? It might have worked! πŸ˜‚ My boyfriend gets pissed with some female protagonists (that’s why he mostly read epic fantasy; Lord of the Rings, A Song of Ice and Fire etc.) but he did like Hunger Games! I guess adventure awakens them! Try with Silmarillion. Your husband might be interested in it. πŸ˜‰

        Like

      5. No way hahaha. My husband HATES Lord of the Rings! He is just not into movies or stories (I know it’s crazy.) He really likes Star Wars but I think he’s seen it once or twice. But for him that’s a really big deal! We balance each other out. I am obsessed with stories enough for the both of us! hahaha

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Oh, all right then! As long as he doesn’t bother you thinking about fictional boys, I guess everything is cool! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ My boyfriend freaked out at first when I told him about the wingspan! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      1. You think so? I like them both… oh! I know! I’m go buy them both, plus the Team Azriel one! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ *kidding, I’ll which one I’ll buy after my book mails arrive coz there might be some mugs included*

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This tag is lots of fun! I just may try it myself, I really enjoyed reading more about your bookish habits. Your thesis topic sounds soooo cool. I just graduated with my bachelors and I’m debating whether or not I want to apply for grad school. In the end, I ultimately want to work in the publishing industry; that would be an absolute dream come true.
    For those of use being born in the 90s I’m pretty sure Harry Potter is just about a must to have on the shelf – I still find myself rereading chapters of The Prisoner of Azkaban when I find myself in one of my reading slumps.
    Omg, isn’t The Night Circus AMAZING! I absolutely loved the romantic, yet fatal twist that brought the fates of the protagonists together in the end.
    Good luck on your writing, I look forward to reading more from you in the future! Happy reading πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so glad you enjoyed it and I look forward to reading your answers sometime soon!
      I’m thinking about rereading all of the Harry Potter books just for fun. It’s been years since I last reread them, to be honest!
      As for The Night Circus, it really looks promising! I’ll let you know what I thought in a future book review! β˜ΊοΈπŸ˜‰
      I’m so happy you came to this blog’s neighborhood and so happy you’re willing to read some of my WIPs! Stay tuned for some super fun stuff in the near future… πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

