13. Summer Rain

“Patience is bitter, but its fruit is sweet.”
~Aristotle

I went upstairs to my bedroom. I was not planning on spending the entire day at home, with the constant possibility that Aaron would continue his psychoanalysis.
It was too early to wake up Mandy or Jim, so I decided to call my equally crazy friend, Effie.

She answered immediately.
“Good morning Leda. Such a morning person yourself, I see,” she said.

“Well, I didn’t actually have much of a choice. What are your plans for today?” I asked, hoping that she wouldn’t have any chores to do.

“Nothing serious. I’ll just go out with Paul in the afternoon. What do you have in mind?” she asked.

“I was thinking we could go for tennis. The house is about to explode and I don’t want to stay any longer,” I replied.

“Sure, why not?” she said happily.

“Perfect! I’ll pick you up in twenty minutes,” I said and once we hung up the phone, I started getting ready.

I would put all of my energy in tennis. I was hoping that after an exhausting match with Effie, I would return way calmer at home. Besides, I wouldn’t be alone; Eugene and Cleo would be with me, too. As a result, Aaron’s chances to piss me off again were eliminating.

I quickly put on my grey shorts and an emerald T-shirt, and I got my tennis racket suit from the wardrobe. I got my hair up in a tight ponytail, took my car keys, cell phone and gym bag, and went downstairs again.
I was lucky enough not to see Aaron anywhere around the ground floor or the house yard. He probably locked inside the attic, that sort of human., the judging voice inside my head said.

So, I got out of the house as fast as I could and went towards the car. I got inside and instantly turned the air condition on, since the temperature had already risen to eighty nine degrees; and it was only ten in the morning! That sweet, summer sweat was inevitable. Which was that quote that Effie used? Oh, yes! Those summer bodies are created during winter! Although, we were “creating” those bodies all year long. At least we were staying fit.

Effie was not far from my house so in fifteen minutes I had already got at her place. A few seconds later, I saw her exiting the building, wearing a blue, sports dress and white shoes.

“Good morning Leda! So, where do you want to go?” she asked while she was placing her bag in front of her seat.

“How about that sports center near the city hall? It’s not that far away,” I replied and turned the engine on.

“Sure! Great!” she said. “What exactly did you mean when you said that the house was about to explode?” she went on, looking at me with pure curiosity.

“Same old… Aaron tried to psychoanalyze me at nine am,” I said, trying to sound indifferent.

“Seriously? How could he possibly be in the mood for that?” she asked.

“Well, we’re in the mood for tennis with ninety degrees, so I guess anything is possible!” I answered.

“It’s going to be a bloodbath, isn’t it?” she asked; it seemed like a rhetorical question.

“Please, it was just a small cut!” I said, trying to change the subject.

“A cut that he took care of. What a surprise! Next time you’ll fight though, try not to have a knife in your hand,” Effie said and I just pouted. With that kind of maturity I would face the situation next time.

A few seconds later, we arrived at the sports center. Thankfully, the tennis courts were empty, so we hurried to the one that was closer to us.

“Ready to lose?” Effie asked while she was swirling her racket inside her hand.

“Actually, I’m ready to sweat!” I replied and served forcefully.

***

We played for hours, till the heat was intolerable and the sweat was flowing all over our bodies. It was around three in the afternoon, when we decided to return home.

While we were going towards the car, my cell started buzzing. It was Eugene.

“Hello you! Did your beauty sleep have any effect?” I asked ironically.

“Yeah. I’m a heartbreaker yet again. Where are you?” he asked.

“I went for tennis with Effie. But I’ll be home soon. You and Cleo can eat if you want to,” I answered.

“Actually, that’s why I’m calling…” he started saying. Dammit!

“Spill it out!” I said, feeling a bit frustrated.

“Well, we decided to go to Cleo’s place. And Aaron told me that he will leave soon. So, it’s not like you’ll be home alone with him, nor that you have to come back quickly,” he replied.

“Whatever…” I said.

“Do I owe you?” he asked.

“Big time!” I said and hung up the phone. Aaron wouldn’t stay for eternity out, so I would be the one who would have to endure him, yet again!

“What happened?” Effie asked.

“Nothing that can’t be fixed. Why don’t you tell Paul to come at my place this afternoon? I’ll call Mandy and Jim, too, to see if they can make it as well,” I said.

“Oh, I see. Will you be alone with the prodigal son again?” she asked nervously.

“Not if you come. Please, say yes!” I begged her.

“Absolutely! I’ll call Paul when we’ll arrive home,” she said.
Suddenly, I felt much better.

***

Our road trip didn’t last long. Nonetheless, the hottest day of the summer turned into an autumn afternoon. Thick, grey clouds covered the sky and fierce winds started to blow, against any forecast.When I parked, little raindrops started to fall on the windscreen; they were becoming bigger and bigger as the time was passing.

The storm broke. I was a few feet away from the house and yet I knew that I’d get soaked. At least, I would be cooled after such a tennis practice.
I got my stuff and walked out in the summer rain. I moved as fast as my aching feet were allowing me, thinking the last time that a summer thunderstorm had broken, when he and I were still together.

It must had been August and we had gone out for drinks. We had parked quite far from one of our favorite bars. Suddenly, a thunderstorm like that had broken and when we’d finally decided to leave, it had been almost impossible to walk because of the water.

I had been wearing my favorite leather sandals. Michael had looked at me and done the unexpected. He’d taken me on his back and started running towards the car, in the middle of the night.

Because of those kinds of memories, it was so difficult for me to throw that man out of my life; because he had shown me that he loved me once. But my patience had run out. The memories could stay, but Michael should stay away from me.

I had reached outside the house. I unlocked the door, soaked from head to toe, and as I was entering inside, I fell on Aaron.

© Victoria Moschou. All Rights Reserved 2016-2017.

8 Comments Add yours

    1. Thank you. It’s been put on hold though because I’m currently working on what seems like it’s gonna be my first YA novel. More details in August! 😉

      Like

      1. Ward Clever says:

        Cool! I wish you much success 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh! Thanks! That’s so kind of you! 😘

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Ward Clever says:

    It takes a lot to write a novel, so you’re way ahead of most people. Well done! I’m impressed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! That’s so motivating! ☺️😘

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ward Clever says:

        I hope you’re very successful! I think you will be

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

