BOOK REVIEW: A Court of Wings and Ruin. A gift! All of it! *SPOILER FREE*

I always feel nostalgic and bittersweet emotions when a book series comes to an end. And even though I know there’s gonna be a new series (coming out in September 2018) revolving around this universe and those characters, still, it will not be the same.

For it won’t be from Feyre’s point of view. And man… How astonishingly awesome and powerful and unique her point of view was in the third, and final, instalment of that series, A Court of Wings and Ruin, by Sarah J. Maas.

ba2f1d_3ad2c41d49924287a0483775e6e099f7~mv2_d_3318_2212_s_2.jpg_256

In A Court of Wings and Ruin, Feyre will bring vengeance!

She has left the Night Court -and her High Lord- (and mate I may add) and is playing a deadly game of deceit. In the Spring Court, Tamlin is making deals with the invading king of Hybern, threatening to bring Prythian to its knees, and Feyre is determined to uncover his plans. But to do so, she must weave a web of lies, and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As mighty armies grapple for power, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords; and hunt for allies in the most unexpected places!

But while war rages, it is her heart that will face the greatest battle!

tumblr_opc9njf7wG1r801tuo1_500

Like in A Court of Mist and Fury, which is my favourite book of the series, A Court of Wings and Ruin, also known as ACOWAR, is divided into three different parts; Princess of CarrionCursebreaker and High Lady.

Each part of the book has something different to present and offer to the reader, but boy! How much I laughed during the first part, how pissed and confused and relieved -and maybe a bit angry- I was during the second part, and how HARD I cried during the third one! Like literally… I locked myself into my bedroom and started crying from page 549 till the end of the book. That means 150 pages later!

So many things where happening in so little time that I needed almost two hours, after having finished the book, to process everything.

Before going deeper into the review, I wanna say that I really liked the fact that this book started differently than the other two; observing things from a different point of view. And I DO hope that those bits and pieces that were given to us in ACOWAR may give some tiny hints regarding who’s gonna be the narrator of the three next books. Fingers crossed on this one!

22666673._SY540_

Until then, let’s see in more depth this lovely novel, which was better than A Court of Thorns and Roses but didn’t really have the spark of A Court of Mist and Fury. Seeing them though as a package, but also separately, I enjoyed them all very, very much! And I am pleased to say that I haven’t been obsessed with a series since the Harry Potter years. Oh yes… I’m not as young as some of you may think!

Focusing on the first part of the novel, Princess of Carrion, I really enjoyed the fact that, although Feyre wasn’t in the best of terms with some of the characters, still she tried to protect them, because they used to be her friends. Also, the fact that she embraced her Fae powers even more and gave to some dooshbags a piece of their own medicine made me scream out loud! WooHoo girl! Feyre Power! They deserved what they got! And I honestly don’t know what that means about me as a person but I laughed. I laughed out loud for their fate and I’m not ashamed to admit it!

In the second part of the book, Cursebreaker, there’s a revelation of so many new characters, I needed some time to figure them all out. I still mix up some of the High Lords in my mind, which means I’ll have to read the book AGAIN! And that’s totally fine by me…

Other than that though, I loved the fact that I got to learn more about the past of some characters, got pieces of their history, which explained their motives and actions, and got to meet new characters with true potential! Like… *tiny spoiler alert*

…the members of the Autumn Court, the High Lord of the Day Court and Feyre’s sisters. And yes I know Nesta and Elain aren’t really “new” characters, but they were considered secondary characters in the previous two books and now they get to do more stuff, they make decisions for their own fate and, more importantly, they get to have the family that they always deserved!

Which leads me to the third, and last, part of the novel, High Lady.

I know I mentioned it before in the book review of A Court of Mist and Fury but having friends like the members of the Inner Circle, having a family like the Inner Circle, makes you want to sacrifice yourself. Willingly! And you’d do it over and over and over again if it meant that those people could have even the slightest chance in happiness.

5b6feda0083be7045ed9672089af03fb

I cried so hard while reading this part of the book! And even now that I’m writing the review I’ve got goosebumps all over my body and my eyes are full of tears! But that’s not only because of the Inner Circle. Nor it is only because of the amazing Feysand love. No… It is because, I read about characters that seemed to be foes and turned out to be the best of friends! And I also read about characters that were supposed to be friends but, at a certain point, they didn’t act like that. They acted selfishly, ignoring what their actions might mean to the rest of the people around them.

But it was a lesson; reading this I mean. For I remembered that all that glitters is not gold. But also that people deserve second chances if they’re smart and brave enough to use them properly!

Overall, I believe A Court of Wings and Ruin was the perfect conclusion for this particular story, Feyre’s story. But it also opened up a lot of portals for future stories, future books and -hopefully- the future of Feyre, Rhys and the Inner Circle, too.

Yeah! I love those people! I really do. And yeah, I know they’re fictional and all but that doesn’t make them any less real inside my mind!

If you liked A Court of Thorns and Roses and you loved A Court of Mist and Fury (because man, who didn’t?), I really think you’re gonna enjoy the last instalment of Prythian, for now, given to you by none other than the one-of-a-kind Sarah J. Maas!

Till next time… Toodles!

P.S.: If you wanna watch a spoilery review, you can follow that link and listen to Piéra Forde mumbling and expressing everything I said and thought and felt when I first read the book!

If not, you can stick to my spoiler-free review here!

Thanks again for being in this blog’s neighbourhood! I most certainly don’t take your presence here for granted!

Leave a Reply

