14. Bath Session

“Life gets better when you embrace your geekiness.”
~Rose McGowan

He was wearing a white shirt, blue trousers and blue shoes. His hair was combed perfectly. In total, he seemed like he was going to a photoshoot, rather than to meet a real estate agent. Especially in comparison to me, Aaron seemed so classy.
After we gained our balance back, he strayed discreetly. He looked at me from head to toe and at that moment I wished I could turn into Thumbelina and vanish into thin air.

“Interesting stylistic choices,” he said. He narrowed his eyes so that his scars were too obvious to miss.

“The truth is that the wet look is a must for this year’s summer,” I replied.

“Indeed. But I don’t think that it is appropriate for the meeting I have today,” he said, looking out of the window.

“Your mother has a few umbrellas in the cupboard. And the taxi numbers are written on a piece of paper next to the phone,” I answered.

“Right… I had forgotten that the civilization of mass transit has not arrived here yet, “he went on and he smiled.

“I don’t think that the modesty of mass transit suits your ego,” I replied ironically.

“Believe it or not, I have started to reconsider some things,” he answered.

“Me too. And as much as I enjoy this conversation that leads nowhere, I think I’ll choose to have a bath and get some rest,” I said and moved towards the staircase, without giving him a second glance.

As I was going upstairs, I texted Jim and Mandy, telling them that Effie and Paul would come, and asking them to join us. Their replies came quickly. Mandy said that she would meet George in order to clear things out between them and Jim said that he would definitely come, although he might be a little grumpy. Why so? I wondered, but decided to ask him once he would have come.

In the meantime, I put inside the washer my clothes and went to the bathroom. A hot, relaxing bath was all I needed. However, I took my cell phone with me, in case somebody was calling.

The rain hadn’t whittled down at all. Together with the noise of the water as I was filling the bathtub and my daydreaming, I couldn’t tell whether Aaron had left the house or not. I was claiming though that my step-brother was already on the road to meet the real estate agent. So I let the hot water soothe my aching muscles and lied down in the bathtub. The sensation was mesmerizing. I couldn’t tell how much time had passed.

I was ready to get my towel when I saw him in front of me.

“Holly shit!” I screamed, trying to cover my nudity.

“I was always wondering what lies under those clothes. The spectacle is beyond my imagination,” Aaron said and he smiled.

“Are you stupid? How long have you been standing there?” I asked furiously and wrapped the towel around me.

“Long enough to notice your tattoo that refers to love,” he went on.

“Are you a pervert? You’re the one who should be checked out! You and your stupid sort of psychoanalysis and your piece of advice on toxic relationships!” I yelled.

“So you were paying attention when I was talking. I had the impression that you were ignoring me systematically,” he said, with the same calm tone.

“I pay attention to the bullshit you say, so I get to know what to avoid!” I hissed and moved carefully towards the exit of the bathroom. I tried to keep a distance from him but I didn’t manage to do so.

“Do you realize now why I had said that it would be a very difficult summer?” he said and caught me the moment I was about to exit. My embarrassment was indescribable. I really wanted to be Thumbelina at that instant.

“Do you realize why you need to toss your diploma of psychiatry and go to lock yourself in a nuthouse?” I yelled, trying to break loose of his grip but it was impossible.

“Enlighten me, please,” he said.

“Our parents are married. In theory, we are siblings,” I said fiercely.

“Technically though, we’re not,” he objected.

“This is sick!” I shouted. As I was trying to free myself, the towel fell on the ground.

“Whatever you say,” he simply said, staring at me with a hungry look and he pulled me closer.

My mind was working feverishly. How could it be possible that I hadn’t seen that coming? Between my issues with Michael and my jokes with Effie about how clinical his case was, I had failed to see the obvious; that my psychiatrist, step-brother was indeed the clinical case!

© Victoria Moschou. All Rights Reserved 2016-2017.

Leave a Reply

