BOOK REVIEW: Nevernight, by the AMAZING Mr. Jay Kristoff! *SPOILER FREE*

Lately, every book I picked to read from my TBR list has left me with this bittersweet book and characters hangover, almost trying to drag me back into the novel's universe. And I'm saying that because, my current residence could be the Red Church; no matter how deathly things could get.

nevernight-review1

Hello sweet creatures and welcome back to another Thriving Thursday, this time with the book that stole my heart, bewitched my mind and crushed my soul!

I'm talking about none other than the first instalment of The Nevernight Chronicles, by Jay Kristoff, the titular Nevernight.

As the author himself states…

"Be advised the pages in your hands speak of a girl who was to murder as maestros are to music. A girl some called Pale Daughter. Or Kingmaker. Or Crow. A killer of killers, whose tally of endings only the goddess and I truly know."

Now that is the perfect way to make your audience feel intrigued. And Mr. Jay Kristoff knows exactly how to do that. For I was hooked right from the very first sentence of the book!

From bestselling author, Jay Kristoff, comes a dangerous new world and a heroine born in darkness.

Destined to destroy empires, Mia Corvere is only ten years old when she is given her first lesson in death. Six years later, the child raised in shadows takes her first steps towards keeping the promise she made on the day that she lost everything.

In a land where three suns almost never set, a fledgling killer joins a school of assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family. For the Red Church is no ordinary school. But Mia is no ordinary student, either.

The shadows love her. And they drink her fear!

26114463

When I first heard about this book I felt mixed up emotions, mostly because of the conflicted reviews it had gotten. However, the moment I opened the book and went to its sixth page (I think), I fell in love!

Maps! The floor plan of the world I was about to step into. But that's just not all of it. For Nevernight is divided into three different parts, and you probably know by now how much I love those organised stories that take you by the hand and pull you deep into the depths of the characters' lives and thoughts!

And so this book has three different books within it; Book 1: When All Is BloodBook 2: Iron Or Glass and Book 3: Black Runs Red.

A fair warning, my dears. If you're not into the splatter kind of stories, you probably gonna feel disgusted, at least at some specific points of the novel. Like while reading the opening line, for instance…

But, if you wanna read about a different, more mystical, ethereal and deathlier Rome and Venice, this is the book for you!

For all the characters seem to be so vivid and real that me, myself and I were afraid to sleep with the doors open; even if it was a hundred degrees out there and a gentle, summer breeze was all that I desperately wanted and needed!

Although the first eighty to ninety pages of the book are a bit hard to follow, please don't feel discouraged. Show some faith in the author! He knows exactly what he's doing. And I know world-building can be a little boring, but it helps you later on; so you can follow the plot line's unfolding, the development of the characters, their stories and their motives undisturbed!

C3f3UIRW8AAtecf

What I personally adored in this book were the flashbacks and the memories. Some may find it confusing but Mia's memories do have purpose and need to be part of the book! They explain, quite gruesomely to be honest, what led that girl to this dark, scarlet path.

And as her motives become clearer, the reader gets to realise that not everything is black or white. Not everyone is either good or bad. There are a thousand different shades of everyone's personality, they either choose to show to the rest of the world or not.

Jay Kristoff artistically manages to give to his readers bits and pieces of every character's personality, the exact moment they need him to. That's another element of this book I loved; even if it is a darker version of young-adult novel, it remains a young-adult novel.

As a reader, I got the chance to read about the dreams, hopes, fears (especially fears now that I recall it) of those teenagers who, even if they're about-to-become assassins, they remain kids. And they try to prove themselves. They try to live up to the expectations their families have, or had, for them. They wanna make their familia proud. They wanna get revenge for what was done to them.

And that, my dears, is really great; for people lately have forgotten what "honour" and "pride" means.

This book reminded me that, along with another thing; a quote, I keep playing in my mind every single day.

Never flinch. Never fear. And never, ever, forget.

20ea545e6c57362bba6ce127056cd901

I know it's hard at times to deal with our fear, let alone overcome it, but trust me, all of us are stronger than we let ourselves believe! All we need sometimes is a little help, just a little push! And we'll find out we can work wonders!

Other than that, I loved the fact that the characters weren't too many, but not too few either. I loved the diversity between them; the bitch, the comic relief, the symbolic character, the matriarch… And above all, the MAJOR plot twist a character brings that you see it coming, but not clearly enough, until it is too late!

What's more, this novel doesn't have the stereotypic love story, which is extremely refreshing! I really liked the fact that the characters wanna have fun and yet they know the life they chose cannot contain a "happily ever after". Nonetheless, that doesn't stop them from creating a purely sexual relationship, at least in the beginning.

Cu9FyUUWcAAZTG3

The only thing that drove me off a little bit was the never-ending description towards the end of the book. I wanted it to be quicker than that, as it was throughout the whole book. 

Even so, it didn't make me worship this novel any less. This book is equally breathtaking and frightening, hilarious and staggering. It brings together the old, traditional elements, with the darker, fascinating features of young-adult novels that, to me, are the next big thing!

If you haven't read Nevernight yet, I'd suggest you read it fast! Because the second instalment, Godsgrave, will be released this September and God only knows how much I want to read it! Like… yesterday!

On the other hand, if you have already read the book, please let me know what you think by commenting in the comment section down below!

Did you like it? Did you hate it? Please don't tell me you DNFed it, because, honestly, I'll persuade you to start reading it again! If I haven't managed to do so by now… I could always use Mia's methods but that wouldn't be quite beneficial for you, now, would it?

Thanks again for being here folks!

Till next time… Toodles!

P.S.: Credits to PhantomRin for the amazing pictures!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Yaaaay I am sooooo glad you loved this book!!!! Not long until Godsgrave!!! Awesome review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Yes! Godsgrave is only two months away! ☺️

      Like

Leave a Reply

