Reading Routine: Books, Reading Lounge and Snacks

Hello wonderful people and welcome back to another Saturday post; a different one than the ones you've been used to.

For the past few months, Saturday posts were full of writing contests, books turned into movies or series, and lately book tags. But, I haven't talked about my reading routine yet; aka how I tend to read books, what kind of books I choose to read (which by now is pretty obvious), where I tend to read and what kind of snacks keep me company while reading.

So, that's what we're gonna talk about today and I'd be more than excited to get to know your reading routine, too.

Let's start then, because this is probably going to be a quite big post.

Book Lover

1. How I tend to read books: I don't know if this title is the appropriate one but I do know that everyone has a different way of reading books. Some people read faster than others, some don't mind being disturbed by traffic jams or crazy neighbours cutting the grass of their backyard at 3pm during the summer, and some can read 24 hours straight, as long as they have plenty of tea or coffee to keep them awake.

I'm nothing like those people. I know plenty of them, and believe me, I admire them beyond words, but I can't do what they're doing!

I consider myself to be an average-speed reader; this basically means that, if the book is an interesting one, I can finish it in three to four days. If not, it can take me two weeks. That happened while reading Lady Midnight, by Cassandra Clare, but for completely different reasons.

I love books that are challenging and those that I have to struggle a little bit to get deep into the plot. Plus, I don't like DNFing books, which is why sometimes it might take longer than expected to finish a novel.

f0581e1b7edc85b9eb3b198eff5c8741

Like I said, some people don't mind noises, or even music, while reading. Well I am the exact opposite! I love listening to music while writing my own WIPs but while reading, I want quiet; as quiet as death itself can be!

Also, when reading, I don't want people talking to me, I don't want my cell phone ringing, I don't want cars passing by my house AND I don't want my crazy neighbours rearranging the whole house at ten pm! Yeah, I know… I seem like a maniac and a psychotic person but who decides to rearrange their home at ten pm, with ninety degrees in the middle of summer? Why don't they read a book instead?

And I'm not talking about an all-night-long read, just a few hours before going to bed. The longest I've managed to read was from 11pm to 5am one summer, so I could finish the Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins and I most certainly don't regret it!

So, I can read from three to seven hours straight, if everything seems to be ideal around me, something which rarely happens. But, a bookworm can hope, can't it?

2. What kind of books I tend to read: Well, if you haven't figured it out by now, I love reading YA fantasy, dark fantasy and dystopian novels. But I also love the classics; like A LOT! I can reread over and over Wuthering Heights, by Emily Brontë, as well as Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen, because sometimes I honestly think I was born in the completely wrong era. Plus I adore the characters of those books, as messed up as that might be!

I tried reading some contemporary literature few years ago but there were only specific authors and books that truly touched me! Like The Last Song and The Best of Me, by Nicholas Sparks, because wow, so many feels, as well as Me Before You, by Jojo Moyes, because I was going through a phase and this book truly helped me when I was in my darkest hour!

However, other than that, I stick to fantasy and I'm currently thinking of rereading the Lord of the Rings books, because I feel like I abandoned my epic fantasy books after The Silmarillion.

59563880d11502498399f9cfa0c00e31

3. Where I tend to read: Everywhere, really! I can read in my bedroom, in the kitchen, in the backyard of my house, in the car (yeah, I don't get carsick)… I can literally read everywhere, as long as it's quiet!

For instance, I wouldn't be able to read right now because my neighbours decided to do some odd jobs at their house and it's been freaking loud and disturbing to my ears for the last three hours or so! So instead, I decided to write and talk about this to you guys; you might judge me, but some of you might relate to this, so that's a relief, the very least!

4. What kind of snacks keep me company while reading: Coffee, for starters, and then, if it's autumn or winter, cookies and muffins and cupcakes, while if it's spring or summer (like now) fruit salads seem like the perfect reading snack to me!

However, I can keep reading for hours having only coffee next to me. When I run out of it, well, that's when things can get pretty hectic! But no worries… There's always tea, right?

BONUS!

We all have busy lives and things we need to do everyday. The last couple of years were an endless race for me. I was sleeping five to six hours every night because there were so many things I had to do, and yet, I always found time to read my favourite books! I was even taking them with me to MRI appointments because I knew I'd be waiting for quite some time in the hospital.

What I wanna say is that if someone wants to read, they'll find the time to do so! That's why reading is always in my everyday to-do-list; so I'm sure I have at least one thing done every day! It keeps me motivated and, well, it makes me feel happier!

And how about you guys?

What kind of books do you read? Is there a particular place that inspires you to read for hours? Coffee or tea while reading? What kind of snacks work for you?

Feel free to comment in the comment section below so we can have a little chat!

Thanks again for being here! I most certainly don't take you for granted, awesome nerds!

Till next time… Toodles!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. kittyp0p says:

    What a beautiful post in writing and photos (: I enjoy reading about mythology, adventure, and more recently psychological thriller/mystery and auto-biographies! We have a window seat in our apartment that I love to pile up with blankets and pillows to read in, snuggled up with a cup of tea. It’s the perfect way to relax xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I love mythology, too! I bought some psychological thrillers for my boyfriend; he’s more into that genre than I am. And epic fantasy, of course.
      This sounds like the perfect spot to read! ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

