BOOK REVIEW: Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy, #5), by Richelle Mead ~ How did that happen? *SPOILER FREE*

Has it ever happened to you, to start rereading a series you absolutely ADORE, and as you’re getting closer to its closure, to feel like the books are getting worse and worse?

Well, that’s basically what happened to me when I reread after almost 7 years the fifth instalment of the Vampire Academy series, by Richelle mead, Spirit Bound.

81jBfp-YEIL

Hello my dearies and welcome back to another paranormal-themed review!

I honestly wanted this review to be more positive, but what can I say? People change… Their preferences change… And a book that seemed PHENOMENAL when that person was 18 years old, may simply be bearable after 7 years (and many more, far more PHENOMENAL novels having been read during those 7 years).

*DISCLAIMER! THE THOUGHTS, FEELINGS AND OPINIONS MENTIONED BELOW ARE COMPLETELY MY OWN AND HAVE NO INTENTION OF JUDGING YOU FOR LIKING THAT BOOK! EVERYONE’S FREE TO LIKE WHATEVER THEY WANNA LIKE. AND SO AM I!*

“After a long and heartbreaking journey to Dimitri’s birthplace in Siberia, Rose Hathaway has finally returned to St. Vladimir’s—and to her best friend, Lissa. It is nearly graduation, and the girls can’t wait for their real lives beyond the Academy’s iron gates to begin. But Rose’s heart still aches for Dimitri, and she knows he’s out there, somewhere.”

Where do I even begin?

The first 150 pages were like a pain in the a$$ for me, basically because Richelle Mead decided to repeat everything that has happened in the previous four novels!

For real now?

I wouldn’t be reading the FIFTH instalment of a series if I hadn’t read the previous four books first!

tumblr_mbymp9iQjT1rwdfeoo1_500

Aside from that though, for a book that’s PACKED with action, ups and downs, plot twists and so on, the majority of the events of the novel, simply felt lifeless to me.

Rose didn’t seem to act like the Rose I’ve grown used to AT ALL, Lissa is SO frustrating to the point I kinda understand why she and Christian broke up at the end of Blood Promise (even though this has zero logical explanation to me), and all those characters that were introduced in the previous instalments are basically nowhere to be seen now.

And I wonder… why? Why bother to introduce so many new characters, simply to bring the ones we know from the first and second novel back in the spotlight? Not that I complain about that, on the contrary… But it just seems lame the fact that the author herself doesn’t trust her own characters!ugh

Despite that, after page 350 everything changed in such a good way and I would have given 10 out of 5 stars if this was the case right from the beginning!

I absolutely loved the fact that Adrian stood up for himself (even just for a little while) and didn’t keep on being Rose’s puppet. The girl is basically using that poor soul since Frostbite, for crying out loud! I still feel sorry for him though, as he never had a fair shot with her, not since Dimitri was there to claim Rose for himself.

And before you read to much into that and believe that I didn’t like this book as much as the previous ones, simply because of the fact that everything between Rose and Dimitri happened in the last few chapters, hold your thoughts!

Of course I enjoy a good love story, especially when I can connect myself with what the characters have faced and are going through. But that doesn’t mean that I don’t see a poorly written book when it’s right before my eyes.

Honestly, Spirit Bound felt like a second draft to me, and for that I am terribly sorry Yes, I genuinely enjoyed everything that happened towards the last 100 pages, especially the fact that there’s such a HUGE plot twist that’s giving a whole new prospect to the final instalment of the series, but still it felt like the whole book hadn’t been edited AT ALL!

Nonetheless, as I managed to read the five books of the series, I believe that I have to read the final one, simply to remember why I had fallen deeply in love with Vampire Academy when I was in High School!

51N97Tw7UaL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Have you guys read the Vampire Academy series? Did you like it? Do you agree with my point of view regarding Spirit Bound or do you think otherwise?

Feel free to share your thoughts, feelings and comment in the comment section down below!

Thank you all for being here once again!

It means the world and I’m sure you know by now that I most certainly don’t take your presence here for granted!

Till next time… Toodles!

Leave a comment